5 Blogs to Follow for Event Enthusiasts

5 Blogs to Follow for Event Enthusiasts

September 14th, 2018

.

As event planner, even after several years of experience, it is necessary to learn about new trends and to learn about the latest technologies available. There are several ways to get there: by carrying out vigils of organized events by others on the internet, by reading books on the subject, by attending new events to experience like the participant or even, by surfing events specialized websites. So we share with you our favourite blogs to inspire you and get you up-to-date about with the latest developments in the zeitgeist the events.

Biz Bash: bizbash.com

Biz Bash mission is to inspire event professionals by suggesting ideas and resources for creating events always more interesting and efficient. The site is recognized as the best source of ideas, news and resources on the subject in North America with more than 225,000 users monthly.

Biz Bash also organizes annual events in several large cities of the United States and Canada to provide unique experiences to the interested industry professionals. During these events, many important decision makers of the most innovating and most influential companies come together to collaborate, network, discover and be inspired. Most popular suppliers meet to present their products and services to help event planner visitors with their future activations for their fairs, galas, etc.

The company also has a popular monthly podcast on events named GatherGeeks – it definitely is worth a visit!

This site is very well built to search for specific ideas by event types (premieres, public events, etc.) or by topics (event technologies, security, etc.). You will find a wide range of inspiring images that will help you to surpass yourself for your next productions.

Special Events: specialevents.com

Special Events is a pleasant site to surf. The Event Tools tab is particularly useful for discovering new products for the management of special events. A simple visit will suffice for you to discover many useful applications to perform better during the organization of future events; whether it is to surpass yourself regarding eco-responsibility thanks to tools like Whole Earth Calculator or to amaze your guests with special effects like those offered by BubbleWorks.

Their blog is also very well written and is really current. You can find several interesting articles about hot topics, like: how to apply the event museology concept to events to gamifying them, how to ensure the delivery of security-conscious music festival following recent thwarted events, etc. It is also possible to subscribe to their print magazine or digizine. Also, their newsletter is free, enjoy!

Smart Meetings: smartmeetings.com

Smart Meetings is the third American blog of our list. However, it turns out an interesting choice if, for example, you are an event coordinator who operates at the international level. Indeed, the Venues Tab suggest several attractive places options for congress that can be held anywhere in the world!

“Smart Meetings TV” is another interesting option proposed by the site that allows viewing of a myriad of very engaging short videos on the latest trends in the industry. The Technology tab will give you a vast number of ideas of applications and gadgets that can be useful in your future productions.

Event MB: eventmanagerblog.com

Event MB was launched in April 2007 by Julius Solaris, international speaker, author and former social media consultant for several famous brands.

This site is particularly interesting for its publications of trends reports on the current year and their predictions for the coming years. The annual report 10 Event Trends is a real gem.  The site offers several free publications such as Good Event Registration Guide (an ebook with a collection of 123 applications and an unprecedented analysis of their prices), Social Media for Events (an ebook on the use of social media in events), Engaging Events (an ebook on the technology of on-line interaction at various events), and The Event App Bible (a review of the event mobile applications).  Event MB is also the manager of the Event Planning & Management LinkedIn group on LinkedIn, the largest community of events professionals with more than 360,000 members so far!

Convene: pcmaconvene.org

Since 1986, Convene magazine is one of the leading publications for events companies. This awards-winning publication was also known as the best publication in the industry in terms of content, according to an independent survey conducted by the Watkins Research Group in 2012. The blog is simply an extension of the content of the magazine.

The Logistics tab is splendid and will give you many advices on new tendencies to save money in the course of your future events, to take the green path efficiently, to reinvent exhibits, etc.

And you, do you know other blogs that are worth a visit? Share on Facebook!

2019-08-30T14:48:16+00:00September 14th, 2018|

5 blogues à suivre pour les passionnés de l’événementiel

5 blogues à suivre pour les passionnés de l’événementiel

14 septembre 2018

Les organisateurs d’événements, même après plusieurs années d’expérience, doivent de continuer de s’informer sur les nouvelles tendances et de s’instruire sur les plus récentes technologies disponibles. Il y a plusieurs manières de s’y prendre : en effectuant une veille des événements organisés par d’autres sur internet, en lisant des livres sur le sujet, en assistant à de nouveaux événements pour se mettre dans la peau du participant, ou encore, en naviguant des sites web spécialisés en événementiel.

Nous partageons donc avec vous nos blogues favoris pour vous inspirer et vous mettre au parfum des plus récents développements dans le zeitgeist de l’événementiel.

Biz Bash : bizbash.com

 La mission de Biz Bash est d’inspirer les professionnels de l’événementiel en suggérant des idées et des ressources pour la création d’événements toujours plus intéressants et performants. Le site est d’ailleurs reconnu comme étant la meilleure source d’idées, de nouvelles et de ressources sur le sujet en Amérique du Nord – avec plus de 225 000 utilisateurs mensuels !
Biz Bash organise aussi des événements annuels dans plusieurs grandes villes des États-Unis et du Canada pour faire vivre des expériences incomparables aux professionnels de l’industrie intéressés. Durant ces événements, de nombreux décideurs importants des compagnies les plus innovantes et influentes du milieu se réunissent pour collaborer, réseauter, découvrir et s’inspirer. Les fournisseurs les plus en vogue sont au rendez-vous pour présenter leurs produits et services afin d’aider les visiteurs « event planners » avec leurs futures activations pour leurs salons d’expositions, leurs soirées galas, etc.

L’entreprise a aussi un populaire podcast mensuel sur l’événementiel qui se nomme GatherGeeks – il vaut définitivement le détour !

Ce site est super bien construit pour rechercher des idées spécifiques par type d’événement (premières, événements publics, etc.) ou par sujets (technologies événementielles, sécurité, etc.). Vous y trouverez une panoplie d’images inspirantes qui sauront vous aider à vous surpasser pour vos prochaines productions !

Special Events : specialevents.com

 Special Events est un site agréable à naviguer. L’onglet « event tools » est particulièrement utile pour découvrir de nouveaux produits pour la gestion d’événements spéciaux. Une simple visite suffira pour vous faire découvrir plusieurs applications utiles pour mieux performer lors de l’organisation de vos événements futurs ; que ce soit pour vous surpasser en terme d’écoresponsabilité grâce à des outils comme Whole Earth Calculator ou pour épater vos participants avec des effets spéciaux comme ceux offerts par l’entreprise BubbleWorks.

Leur blogue est aussi très bien écrit et est vraiment actuel. Vous y trouverez plusieurs articles d’intérêt traitant de sujets chauds, comme par exemple : comment appliquer des concepts de muséologie événementielle aux événements afin de les « gamifier », comment assurer la tenue d’un festival de musique sécuritaire suite aux malheureux événements récemment survenus, etc.

Il est aussi possible de s’abonner à leur magazine imprimé ou numérique. Aussi, leur infolettre est gratuite, profitez-en !

Smart Meetings : smartmeetings.com

 Smart Meetings est le troisième blogue américain à notre liste. Cependant, il s’avère un choix intéressant si, par exemple, vous êtes une coordonnatrice événementielle qui opère au niveau international. En effet, l’onglet « Venues » propose plusieurs options de lieux intéressantes pour des congrès pouvant être tenus n’importe où dans le monde !

« Smart Meetings TV » est une autre option intéressante offerte par le site qui permet le visionnement d’une myriade de courtes vidéos très engageantes sur les dernières tendances de l’industrie. L’onglet « Technology » vous donnera une multitude d’idées d’applications et de gadgets pouvant vous servir lors de vos prochaines productions.

Event MB : eventmanagerblog.com

EventMB a été lancé en avril 2007 par Julius Solaris, conférencier international, auteur et ancien consultant en médias sociaux pour plusieurs marques renommées.Ce site est particulièrement intéressant pour ses publications de rapport de tendances sur l’année en cours et ses prédictions pour les années à venir. Le rapport annuel « 10 Event Trends » est un véritable bijou.  Le site offre plusieurs publications gratuites telles que « Good Event Registration Guide » (un ebook avec un recueil de 123 applications et une analyse sans précédent de leurs prix),« Social Media for Events » (un ebook sur l’utilisation des médias sociaux dans le domaine de l’événement), « Engaging Events » (un ebook sur les technologies d’interaction en direct lors d’événements divers) et encore, « The Event App Bible » (une analyse des applications mobiles événementielles).  Event MB est aussi le gestionnaire du groupe LinkedIn « Event Planning & Management » sur LinkedIn, soit la plus grande communauté de professionnels de l’événementiel avec plus de 360 000 membres à ce jour !

Convene : pcmaconvene.org

Depuis 1986, le magazine Convene est l’une des principales publications pour les entreprises d’événementiel. Cette publication couronnée de prix a aussi été reconnue comme étant la meilleure publication de l’industrie sur le plan du contenu selon un sondage indépendant mené par le Watkins Research Group en 2012.

Le blogue est tout simplement une extension du contenu du magazine.

L’onglet « Logistics » est épatant et vous donnera une multitude de conseils sur les nouvelles tendances pour sauver de l’argent lors de vos futurs événements, pour prendre le virage vert de façon efficace, pour réinventer les salons d’exposition, etc.

Et puis, bien entendu, notre blogue est aussi un incontournable !

Chaque mois, nous publions au minimum un nouvel article pour vous informer et mieux vous outiller afin d’améliorer votre performance dans le domaine de l’événementiel.

Et vous, connaissez-vous d’autres blogues qui en valent le détour ? Partagez-les-nous sur Facebook!

2019-08-27T18:42:30+00:0014 septembre, 2018|